Whenever you have one or more files selected in the center pane of the Library, the Actions dropdown is what enables you to take certain actions on your files.
Note that when non-image files are selected in the center pane, certain unavailable (image-only) actions will be greyed out.
Quick Send is a great way to send a few (or many) files to a client without logins, passwords, attachments, or third-party services. Through the Quick Send feature, you may easily bundle together a group of files and generate a one-time use download link that you can send to your client. For your security, the link is valid for a maximum of 72 hours (and again, is valid for one download per link).
Library Staff (Admin, Editor, Tagger) can download any file at any time regardless of Collection/Gallery permission settings applied in the Library.
If you leave the embed metadata box unchecked, you will receive the original image file - the file as it was on the day it was uploaded to PhotoShelter for Brands. This means, if the file had metadata on it when it was uploaded to PhotoShelter for Brands, that original metadata will remain intact.
If you check the embed metadata box, you will receive the original size and format image file with the updated metadata as it appears in PhotoShelter for Brands in that moment.
Export files using FTP
Library Staff can export files from PhotoShelter for Brands using File Transfer Protocol (FTP) standard regardless of permission settings applied to their containing Collections and Gallery. See this support center article on exporting files from your PhotoShelter for Brands account using FTP.
The second step of enabling your organization's account for e-commerce. See this support center article on pricing images in your PhotoShelter for Brands account.
Rate / Flag Files
Library Staff can rate or flag files in PhotoShelter for Brands. Images starred or flagged in Lightroom will pull in with these flag and star ratings applied when uploaded using the PhotoShelter for Brands Lightroom Plugin. These ratings and flags are visible to every Library Staff user and can be changed by another user. There is no rating or star history. Star ratings appear the right-hand pane when the file is selected in the center pane. An orange flag appears on file's thumbnail in the center pane and in the right pane when the file thumbnail is selected in the center pane. Library Staff can search and sort by star rating in the Library (only).
Use the Library "Sort" function to sort the files in the desired order before renaming in batch. When editing filenames in batch, in order to get the correct numerical sequence, you'll want to add 0s to the beginning of your filenames (pad it with 0s). The amount of zeros you'll want to add to the beginning ultimately depends on how many images are in your gallery.
For example, if you had 1,000 images in a gallery, you'd want add three zeros to images 1-9, two zeros to 10-99, one zero to 100-999, and no zeros to image 1000. Your new numbers would look something like this:
Edit image IPTC
See this support center article on IPTC metadata. Note that only image files may be edited in this way.
Edit image custom metadata
See this support center article on custom metadata. Note that only image files may be edited in this way.
Edit image license metadata
See this support center article on the License Alerts workflow. Note that only image files may be edited in this way.
Rotates the images you have selected in the center pane of the Library. Note that only image files may be edited in this way.
Set Image Model/Property Release
Enable or disable the model/property release quick action buttons on a selection of files at one time. Note that only image files may be edited in this way.
Add to Another Gallery
For more flexible organization, images/files may be located in as many Galleries as you'd like. Adding a file to multiple galleries merely creates virtual copies of it and doesn't take up additional storage space in your account. (It should be noted that Collections, however, may only exist in one location and cannot be cross-listed in other Collections.)
1. From the Center Pane of the Library, select the individual files you'd like to copy. From the Center Pane, locate the Actions drop-menu, and select Add to Another Gallery.
2. Type an existing gallery name in the empty grey box and PhotoShelter for Brands will use predictive text to match any existing gallery name. Or, you can click the Create a new gallery link and create a brand new gallery for the files to be copied into. Name the gallery (Note: avoid naming your new gallery the same as an existing gallery) and set preliminary visibility settings (you can edit these later). Click Add to create the gallery.
3. Click Submit to create the virtual copies and deposit them into the gallery(s).
If you created a new gallery, the gallery will appear outside of all Collections and at the root level of your Library, the My Library level. Drag and drop the gallery wherever you like.
You can tell an image has one or more copies in your Library when you select that image in the center pane and open the "Located In" dropdown box in the right pane. In general, if the image has a copy you want to get rid of, you will use Actions > Remove from gallery and not Delete. A "delete" of an image with copies in different galleries will delete that image everywhere and place one single file in your "Trash" area. The "remove" function only removes it from the gallery you're currently viewing the image in.
Move to Another Gallery
To move files out of one gallery and into another, use this action. You can click the Create a new gallery link and create a brand new gallery for the files to be copied into. Name the gallery (Note: avoid naming your new gallery the same as an existing gallery) and set preliminary visibility settings (you can edit these later). Click Add to create the gallery
Add Images to a Lightbox
To add an image to a new or existing Lightbox, use this action.
Note: Admin/Editors cannot view their 'Shared' Lightboxes from the Library and can only add images to shared Lightboxes from the Portal website.
Note: Lightboxes are saved to your user login (email address). If you delete an image in your Library it will also be deleted from any Lightboxes it was added to. Learn more about Lightboxes.
Copy Files to Another Account
If you are a Library Staff member or a Contributor to another PhotoShelter for Brands account, you can copy files from your Library to that other account. The images will maintain their IPTC metadata.
The files will land in the Incoming Files Collection (using the standard Contributor Gallery naming convention: UP: Gallery Description, First Initial. Last Name, Date of Upload) in the destination PhotoShelter for Brands account.
Remove from Gallery
If you want to err on the side of caution, especially if you know your Library has virtual copies within it (see "add to another gallery" capability above) always use the remove from Gallery option, even when you would like to delete images in PhotoShelter for Brands. A remove is different than a delete because if the image you are removing is a virtual copy, a removal will only remove that copy you have currently selected and leave the other copies in other galleries untouched.
Similarly, if you use the remove option and there are no virtual copies of the file, PhotoShelter for Brands will delete the single file. You can then located the file in the Trash area of the bottom left pane.
Delete from Gallery
The delete option will delete the file(s) selected and place them in the Trash area at the bottom left pane of the Library. You will always be warned before deleting a file.
If you delete a file that has one or more virtual copy, the copies will also be deleted from their galleries. To recover the file, click the Trash area in the left pane. Select the image thumbnails in the center pane you would like to recover. If this is a file that had virtual copies, the virtual copies would then need to be re-created.