The Lightbox is a tool to collect and view various images together. These images can come from one Gallery or from many different ones. Lightboxes are typically used for collaboration. You might use a Lightbox to collect and share your image choices for a particular project. Several people may want to use ratings or comments to work on a project together.
You must be logged in to make a Lightbox. The Lightbox owner can choose to share it with others by emailing a link. If it is not shared, only the owner of the Lightbox can view it. Although you can share a Lightbox with anyone, any images in the Lightbox can only be viewed by someone with permission to access the particular photos.Lightboxes can contain images from different PhotoShelter and Libris accounts that you have access to. This can be useful if you would like to buy images from photographers who have traditional PhotoShelter accounts.
Adding images to a Lightbox
When viewing any image within the Library, click Add to Lightbox in the lower right corner.
If you're not logged in, you will save the image to a temporary lightbox. Login to save your selections to a lightbox for future reference.
If you have already logged in and save an image to a lightbox, select an existing lightbox.
Or, you can choose Create a new lightbox and name the new lightbox you'll add the image to.
From the confirmation box, you can go directly to the Lightbox or close the window by clicking OK.
Accessing the Lightbox
After you've logged in to the Libris Portal, click Lightboxes in the top navigation.
Using the Lightbox
The primary functions of a Lightbox are to rate and comment on the images contained within it. You can share lightboxes with other Library Staff or Invited Users so that they can also rate and comment on the images. If the image is deleted from the Libris Library (something your user role does not have control over), it will also be deleted from all lightboxes.
Rate and Comment on Images
While viewing thumbnails, you can click on the stars to assign a rating. Click the X to reject the image. Ratings live on the images while they are in the lightbox and will not be applied to the images in the Library.
Alternately, if you click a thumbnail, you can view, rate and leave comments on images individually.
Viewing others' ratings
When other Invited Users have rated images within the Lightbox, you can view their ratings.
- Click Ratings Matrix. You can view all users' ratings for the images contained within the Lightbox.
Sharing a Lightbox
Sharing a Lightbox allows others to see and interact with the contents. You can provisionally grant access to invite others or remove/rate/sort/comment on images. For example, if you would like the Administrator or Editor of this Libris account to grant you download access to the images you've added to your Lightbox, the first step is to Share your Lightbox with the Photographer/Image Owner and request this access.
- Click the green Share button.
- Enter the email address of the person with whom you'd like to share.
- Check the appropriate access controls. If you want the Invited User to be able to remove, rate, or comment, be sure to check that box.
- Click Share Lightbox.
The user will receive an email with a link to the Lightbox and must login in order to access the lightbox.
If you cannot see the images in a lightbox that has been shared with you ("N/A" (not available) images), you will need to contact the Libris account Administrator or Editor so that you can be granted access to see these images. This is a security measure to prevent embargoed images from being distributed.